FACULTY UPDATES

Dr. Neal Allen - Dr. Allen enjoyed his first year in Kansas, and teaching American Politics and Law courses at Wichita State. He is looking forward to teaching Political Theory and Philosophy courses this year, and also teaching a Supreme Court course that is new to WSU. A (70)4(k)3(in58 Tf1 0 0 1 430.13 74.38 Tr

P

The Department provided support for four students to attend the 53rd annual Academy Assembly in Colorado Springs this year. Darren Beckham, Eva Kuban, Sahar Eshghi, and Luis Carbajal heard high level key note speakers and engaged in round table discussions on the topic of "Power and Influence: Global Dynamics in the 21st Century".

Luzzati Lecture Series

The Department hosted the second annual Luzzati Lecture series event in memory of longtime community leader Ruth Luzzati. The speaker this year was Dan Glickman, former Congressman and Senior Fellow at the Bipartisan Center in Washington D.C., speaking on whether bipartisanship is possible in the current political environment.

www.wichita.edu/luzzati

Student club activities

Students were very active in several different student clubs this year. Some of the activities sponsored by these groups included:

College Republicans - presentation by Congressman Mike Pompeo.

from Cpl George Boyd, original member of the Tuskegee Airmen.

UNICEF Campus Challenge; carried out a "TAP" project for World Water Crisis Week; and participated in UNICEF Trick or Treat.

High School Model United Nations Conference

All of the WSU Model UN students had the opportunity to serve as dais staff in January 2012 as we hosted our fourth annual Wichita Area Model UN for local high school

students. We had participants from 12 high schools across Kansas, with students representing 24 different countries. Outstanding delegate awards went to students from Buhler, Emporia, Herington, and Bucklin high schools.

www.wichita.edu/wamun.

In recognition of Constitution Day last year, the Kansas Appellate court convened on the WSU campus and heard the oral arguments for three cases. These sessions were open to the public and were widely attended by students on campus. After the arguments were complete, the judges took general questions from the audience. Later,

Pi Sigma Alpha Initiates



The Alpha Delta Chapter of the Pi Sigma Alpha Political Science Honorary Society is pleased to recognize our newest initiates: Jonathan T. Abrahamsen - Luis Eduardo Carbajal - Creighton D. Coleman - Sahar Y. Eshghi - Dima Hammouri - Lauren L. Hoch - Alaina E. McWhorter - William J. Rhodes - Jade Ashley-Hillary Simpson and Allen D. Tang. The WSU chapter was founded in 1938 and now has over 500 members.

P